Posted by: chance47 | 05/07/2013

Bryan “Delectable” Fuller Does it Again…and Again…And Again

Hannibal-NBC-Poster-2012-300x375

I initially kept myself from reviewing “Hannibal” on NBC for several reasons.   None of those reasons happened to be Bryan Fuller.   I have never made it a secret that I think he is the most talented television EP and creator currently working.   He devises such amazing shows full of sumptuous performances, saliva inducing scenery, savory visuals, and tart-tangy-yum-yum dialogue.  In short…I would eat Bryan Fuller up.  I kept myself from reviewing the show because I wanted to see how it would hold up.  I’m glad I waited.

“Hannibal” takes what he does at his most fanciful and combines it with his more macabre sensibilities that he has explored in “Dead Like Me” and “Heroes” (SEASON 1 ONLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!).  I have long been a fan of Mr. Fuller.   I still hold his “Wonderfalls” and “Pushing Daisies” in my top ten television series of all times (remind to make that list at some point).

Fuller’s “Hannibal” may soon find itself within that very same top ten.  The performances are uniformly superb.  The production values STELLAR.  I could go on about concurrent themes, the use of food imagery and the all around CREEPITUDE that the show exudes, but I fear it would turn into a dissertation.

Fans of “Silence of The Lambs”, “Hannibal”, or “Red Dragon” (or even the superb “Manhunter” featuring Brian Cox) will not be dissuaded by this show’s interpretation of the source material.

Let me leave it at this.

“Hannibal” is the best written show I have watched in the past five years easily.  It has the best production values (especially in its pilot) since the first season of “Lost”.  No splashy effects, but for pure television film-making ..this show takes the crepe easily.

Hugh Dancy and Mads Mikkelsen play off of each other so well I often forget that Laurence Fishburne and Caroline Dharvenas ( of “Wonderfalls” fame) are also alongside giving ample support.

cast-hannibal-nbc-550

While this show may not be for all tastes on the outside…I urge you all to take a moment and allow yourself to be taken into a psychological journey unlike ANY you have EVER been allowed to view on NETWORK television.  The sheer visuals this show accomplishes while being on a top  3 network is astounding.

Please…give your all to “Hannibal” from soup to nuts.  You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

